The DTV gives remote workers, Thai-activity participants and their families a five-year visa with 180-day stays. Since 31 August 2026 the paperwork is stricter and the rules differ by embassy. Here is what is confirmed, what is not, and how to avoid a wasted fee.
Taken from Thai embassy pages dated August and September 2026. Where they differ, the guide says so.
The Department of Consular Affairs announced the change on 28 August 2026, and embassies repeated it in the following days. Two things changed, from 00:00 Thailand time on 31 August 2026:
The London and Bucharest embassies both publish this wording on their sites. The announcement does not define which documents count as proof of permanent residence, which is why embassies now ask for different things (next section).
The 15 September change to the 30-day visa exemption is a separate matter. The Ministry of Foreign Affairs says that review covers only the exemption and visa-on-arrival schemes and does not affect other visa categories. We cover it in our 30-day exemption guide.
Six embassy pages, six slightly different answers.
| Mission (page date) | Who may apply / residence proof | Police certificate | Fee and speed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vientiane (28 Aug) | “Lao nationals or permanent residents of the Lao PDR.” Visitors passing through no longer qualify. | From Lao authorities or your country of nationality | Not stated on the page I read |
| London (8 Sep) | Permanent residence in the UK, Ireland or the British Overseas Territories | Within 6 months of submission (ACRO or Irish police certificate) | £300. Speed not stated |
| Washington DC (10 Sep) | “Proof of permanent residence (i.e. valid U.S. Visa, Permanent resident Card)” | FBI certificate within 3 months | US$400. Speed not stated |
| Ho Chi Minh City | Vietnamese citizens: ID card plus immigration letter. Foreigners: a Temporary or Permanent Residence Card only; a temporary residence declaration is rejected | From your home country or Vietnam | US$340. 5 working days, not counting the day of submission; the clock resets if documents are missing |
| Kuala Lumpur (7 Sep) | No residency or nationality rule on the page as I read it | Not addressed on the page I read | Fee not stated. “Approximately 1 month or more”, case by case |
| Budapest (18 Aug) | Not addressed. The page predates the 31 August change | Not addressed | €350 |
On a phone, swipe the table sideways to see the fee and speed column.
The evidence named by London and Ho Chi Minh City is an employment contract or certificate from an employer outside Thailand, or a professional portfolio for freelancers. Document lists differ in detail: Budapest lists six months of bank statements, payslips or sponsorship letters, while Washington asks for three months of statements with the balance at the line at the end of each month.
Muay Thai, Thai culinary training and medical treatment are named by every mission I read; Budapest also lists sports training, seminars and festivals. The evidence is a confirmation or acceptance letter from the organiser, or a hospital appointment letter. Planning a training stay? Our partner site TopMuayThai.com lists camps, and the Muay Thai camp budget planner shows what a stay costs.
The spouse and children under 20 of a DTV holder. Each person files a separate application with proof of relationship (marriage, birth or adoption certificate) and the main holder's DTV details. The pages I read do not clearly exempt dependants from the funds and police-certificate rules, so plan for each person to meet them unless your mission says otherwise. Washington lets children under 16 use the main applicant's FBI certificate.
Every mission that states an amount says at least 500,000 baht or the local equivalent. London quotes £12,000 and Washington US$16,000. The requirement is a balance to show, not a monthly income minimum. None of the pages I read sets one. The figure of “$80,000 a year” that circulates belongs to a different visa (the LTR), not the DTV.
How the balance must be shown varies:
The sensible reading is to keep the balance above the line for the whole statement period and to submit clear PDFs. Washington warns that screenshots and unclear files delay processing. Amounts in other currencies move with the exchange rate, so leave a margin.
The common core, with the points where missions differ.
| Document | What to know |
|---|---|
| Passport and photo | Valid passport (Ho Chi Minh City asks for 6 months or more of validity) and a recent photograph. |
| Proof of permanent residence | New since 31 August. What counts differs by mission (see the table above). |
| Funds | 500,000 baht or the local equivalent, shown as each mission specifies. |
| Category evidence | Employer letter or contract, or a portfolio; an activity or hospital letter; or the relationship documents plus the main holder's DTV. |
| Police certificate | New since 31 August. Age limit varies: 6 months at London, 3 months for an FBI certificate at Washington. |
| Translations | Washington and Kuala Lumpur require certified English translations, notarised by an embassy or the Ministry of Foreign Affairs only, for documents issued outside Thailand and the host country. Ho Chi Minh City accepts Thai or English and recommends certified translations for other languages. |
| Not on the lists I read | Health insurance, a medical certificate and accommodation in Thailand. Some missions may still ask, so check yours. |
You apply through the official Thai e-Visa portal: create an account, choose the DTV and the mission, upload your documents as clear scans, pay, and wait for the decision by email. The fee is not refundable, so make sure your category and residence proof are right before you pay. Missions reserve the right to ask for more documents, and Ho Chi Minh City says the processing clock restarts when they do.
Fee. Each mission charges its own local-currency fee: £300 in London, US$400 in Washington, US$340 in Ho Chi Minh City and €350 in Budapest on the pages I read. The figure of 10,000 baht is repeated by law-firm and visa-agency sites, but I could not find it on a government page. Budget by your mission's number.
Timing. The only published figures I found are Ho Chi Minh City's 5 working days and Kuala Lumpur's “approximately 1 month or more, case by case”. Other missions did not state one on the pages I read. Do not book non-refundable flights until the visa is approved.
The DTV is valid for five years with multiple entries. Each entry allows a stay of up to 180 days. London's page describes the extension as “one time for a period not exceeding 180 days per entry”, requested at Thai Immigration, not at the embassy. After the 180 plus 180 days you must leave Thailand, and you can re-enter on the same DTV while it remains valid.
Border runs. Because the visa is multiple entry, leaving and coming back is legal. I found no published limit on the number of DTV entries, and entry is always at the officer's discretion. Isolated reports of officers questioning DTV holders at the border circulate online; I found no official policy behind them. The two-entry land-border cap belongs to the visa exemption, and the Ministry says that review does not affect other visa categories.
The clearest official wording I found is on the Budapest embassy page (updated 18 August 2026): DTV holders are “prohibited from obtaining a Thai work permit and working for companies in Thailand or performing freelance work for Thai clients.” The other pages I read do not repeat it, but nothing I found contradicts it. A Thai job needs a Non-Immigrant B visa and a work permit.
If a meaningful share of your income comes from Thai clients, the DTV is the wrong route for that work, and a mixed portfolio is a question for an immigration lawyer, not for a guess. I found no official ceiling on Thai-source income.
I found no DTV-specific tax rule, concession or exemption. Tax depends on how long you are here, not on the visa. The Revenue Department's guidance for foreigners says that foreign-sourced income earned from 1 January 2024 onward by a person who stays in Thailand for 180 days or more is taxable when it is remitted to Thailand, wholly or partly, even if the money arrives in a later year. Advice that DTV holders “pay no Thai tax” is opinion until an adviser applies it to your facts.
What counts as bringing money in, the treatment of card spending, and the effect of a tax treaty are questions for a Thai tax adviser. This is general information, not tax advice.
The London, Washington and Ho Chi Minh City checklists I read do not ask for health insurance. The insurance minimums quoted on some blogs belong to other visas, such as the retirement visa (Non-O-A), not to the DTV. I could not check every mission, so look at yours. The visa does not require it, but a private hospital bill in Thailand can be large, so buy cover for the medical risk, not for the visa.
| Route | Best for | Stay and work |
|---|---|---|
| DTV | Remote work for foreign employers or clients, a listed Thai activity, or the family of a holder | 5-year visa, 180 days per entry plus one extension. No Thai employment or Thai-client work. |
| 30-day visa exemption | Short tourism | 30 days for 60 countries from 15 September 2026, tourism only. See the exemption guide. |
| Tourist Visa (TR) | A holiday of 31 to 60 days | Applied for before you travel. Details in the exemption guide; no work. |
| Non-B | A Thai employer or Thai business | Entry only. A work permit is a separate step. |
| Non-O-A | Retirees aged 50 and over | Different financial and insurance rules; no work. See the visa checker. |
Listed in one place so you know where to check before you pay.
See whether you qualify and which documents to prepare.
What a month in Thailand really costs in 2026.
The 15 September change, and why it pushes long stays towards a proper visa.
Cities, coworking and community for remote workers.
The free arrival card you still file before every entry.